Faye photo for site original.jpg

A Bit About Me

I've been in practice as a Canadian Certified Counsellor for over 11 years. I have worked over 7 years as a counsellor at a University with a highly diverse group of youth and adults.  Before this I worked for 4 years in Community Mental Health. And before this I was a Speech-Language Pathologist for 12 years, primarily working with adults with acute and progressive neurological challenges that impacted their communication.  I am a certified Gestalt Therapist, having completed a 5 year training program with the Gestalt Institute of Toronto and I have my Masters in Counselling Psychology from the Ontario Institute of Studies in Education (OISE) in Toronto.  Since then I've completed many different professional trainings (see my Linked in profile for more info). Recently I've incorporated EFT (Emotional Freedom Technique aka tapping).  It's a powerful energy psychology method that quickly and effectively reduces emotional distress related to difficult memories or traumatic experiences.  

For about 10 years I struggled with symptoms of food and chemical sensitivies and chronic pain.  I completed limbic system retraining in 2018 which led me into the amazing world of neuroplasticity and accessing the potential of our minds. It ended up being the beginning of a beautiful journey of connection to my higher, wiser self and to a new and always expanding understanding of what might be happening in our universe. I have so much appreciation for these physical challenges I've experienced as they really have been my greatest teachers.  

Looking back now, the path seems much clearer than it did when I was navigating it going forwards. Learning about the nuances of communication took me into the study of relationships and then self and then higher self and universal connection. I think I've just been following my interests and what I needed to learn as my life unfolds.

I value authenticity, integrity and kindness. I appreciate beauty in my daily surroundings.  I love sitting by trees, swimming in rivers, watching clouds and bees.  I love spending time with family and friends.

I was raised in Ontario and have been on Vancouver Island for 11 years.  I currently reside in Nanaimo on Vancouver Island, British Columbia which is Coast Salish land and the unceded traditional territory of the Snuneymuxw First Nation.  I am very grateful to be able to live and work on this beautiful land and I acknowledge that I am an uninvited visitor.  I have enormous respect and gratitude for those who stewarded this land from the beginning of time.

I identify as belonging to the LGBTQ2+ community and am married to a beautiful human. I'm a step-mom. I'm passionate about gardening, preserving food, fermenting and bread making. Since Covid I've been enjoying dance parties for one. My dogs Tova and Maxx bring my heart joy daily.  

122805310_10157429841126176_8795562819329319067_n.jpg